Jay County Public Library 
315 N. Ship Street, Portland, IN  47371 
(260) 726-7890 or fax (260) 726-7317
Monday-Friday 8 to 8   Saturday 8 to 5


My Account
Our Area




Board of Trustees

The library is governed by a seven-member board, with members appointed by the Jay County Council, Jay County Commission, or Jay School Corporation. Members are appointed for four-year terms, serve without pay, and meet at least monthly. While the library is primarily funded by county property tax, money is also received from the county option income tax, financial institution tax, excise tax, fines, fees and copy machine receipts.


Dates for 2012 Board Meetings

Board meetings will be held at 4:00 p.m. in the South section of the library's Community Room unless otherwise posted.

Monday, January 2

Monday, February 6

Monday, March 5

Monday, April 2

Monday, May 7

Monday, June 4

Tuesday, July 2

Monday, August 6

Tuesday, September 4  - including Budget Hearing

Monday, September 17  - Budget Adoption

Monday, October 1

Monday, November 5

Monday, December 3


Current Board Members

name (appointing body)

Barbara Laux, President (County Commission)

Duane Sautbine, vice president  (School Corporation)

Mike McKee, secretary  (County Council)

Lynn Hampson, treasurer (County Commission)

Holly Weaver, assistant treasurer (School Corporation)

Darrell Borders (County Council)

Linda Frantz (School Corporation)



updated 6/12

Jay County Public Library  Portland, Indiana