Jay County Public Library 
315 N. Ship Street, Portland, IN  47371 
(260) 726-7890 or fax (260) 726-7317
Monday-Friday 8 to 8   Saturday 8 to 5


My Account
Our Area



Find us



Board of Trustees

The library is governed by a seven-member board, with members appointed by the Jay County Council, Jay County Commission, or Jay School Corporation. Members are appointed for four-year terms, serve without pay, and meet at least monthly. While the library is primarily funded by county property tax, money is also received from the county option income tax, financial institution tax, excise tax, fines, fees and copy machine receipts.


Dates for 2014 Board Meetings

Board meetings will be held at 4:00 p.m. in the South section of the library's Community Room unless otherwise posted.

Monday, January 13

Monday, February 10

Monday, March 10

Monday, April 14

Monday, May 12

Monday, June 9

Monday, July 14

Monday, August 11

Monday, September 8  - including Budget Hearing

Monday, October 13

Monday, November 10

Monday, December 8


Current Board Members

name (appointing body)

Duane Sautbine, President  (School Corporation)

Mike McKee, Vice President  (County Council)

Darrell Borders, Secretary (County Council)

Holly Weaver, Treasurer (School Corporation)

Joel Roberts, Assistant Treasurer (School Corporation)

Hannah Hughes (County Commission)

Joel Roberts (School Corporation)

Irene Heare (County Commission)


updated 2/26/2014

Jay County Public Library  Portland, Indiana